LAMAR COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS PUBLIC HEARING December 14th, 2021 1:00 p.m.

I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 1:00 p.m. on December 14th, 2021. Present for the meeting were Chairman Glass, Vice-Chairman Horton, Commissioner Heiney, Commissioner Traylor, Commissioner Thrash, County Administrator Townsend, and County Clerk Davidson. The meeting was available via Zoom.

II. County Administrator Townsend provided a FY 2022 Budget Guide Overview. The Proposed Budget for FY 2022 is \$12,038,598.00 which represents a \$648,929.00 increase (5.69%) compared to the FY 2021 budget.

The Driving Factors for the budget increase are as follows:

- The Board is anticipating a 10% healthcare cost increase in July 2022.
- The Sheriff's Office has a 9.78% personnel increase to compete with surrounding counties to retain law enforcement with benefits and salaries.
- The Detention Center has a 21.4% increase due to maintenance upgrades.
- The Salary increase to retain and/or hire new employees is 2.5%.
- The Board of Elections has a 38.45% increase due to the elections in 2022 and training.
- The Towaliga Court Circuit budget increased due to the backlog of court cases due to the COVID pandemic.
- The County's liability insurance increased due to the purchase of new equipment and vehicles.
- The Public Transit has an increase of 90.5% (\$4,750.00) due to the County contribution towards the purchase of a new transit bus.
- The Debt Service on the Bond for twenty years for the new Administration and Commissioners Offices at 790 Veterans Parkway.

III. Public Comments

There were no comments regarding the Proposed 2022 Budget.

IV. Adjournment

Vice-Chairman Horton made a motion to adjourn the Public Hearing at approximately 1:04 p.m. Commissioner Thrash seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

THE LAMAR COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS
Charles Glass, Chairman

	Bennie Horton, Vice-Chairman	
	Robert Heiney, Commissioner	
	Ryran Traylor, Commissioner	
	Nancy Thrash, Commissioner	
Attest:		
Carlette Davidson,	County Clerk	