JOINT SPLOST IV MEETING LAMAR COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS, CITY OF BARNESVILLE, CITY OF MILNER, TOWN OF ALDORA November 16th 2022

6:00 p.m. BARNESVILLE CIVIC CENTER

City of Milner

Kathy Buffington-Mayor Christopher Ponder-Council Member Regina Stephens-Council Member Skip Seda-Council Member Tausha Grose-City Administrator

Town of Aldora

Jimmy Matthews-Mayor Joe Penley-Town of Aldora Linda Waterman-Town of Aldora Clerk

Lamar County Board of Commissioners

Charles Glass -Chairman
Bennie Horton-Vice-Chairman
Robert Heiney-Commissioner
Ryan Traylor-Commissioner
Nancy Thrash-Commissioner
Sean Townsend-County Administrator
Carlette Davidson-County Clerk

City of Barnesville

Peter Banks-Mayor
Tim Turner-/plCity Manager
Sammie Shropshire-Mayor Pro-Tem
Joe Simms-County Member
Bill Claxton-Council Member
Cecil "Butch" McDaniel- Council Member
Tammy York-City Accountant
Tammy Folson-City Clerk
Nikki Sappington-Community and Development Director

Scott Mayfield-Attorney for the Board of Commissioners. Board of Elections-Anita Reid-Elections Superintendent, Chairman Elect Ryan Traylor, Monica Hamlett City Attorney for the City of Milner, and Lacey Merritt City of Milner Clerk.

CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Glass called the meeting of the Lamar County Board of Commissioners to order for the SPLOST IV Intergovernmental Agreement. Mayor Peter Banks called the City of Barnesville to order. Mayor Kathy Buffington called the City of Milner to order. Mayor Jimmy Matthews called the Town of Aldora to order.

SPLOST IV PROJECT LIST DISCUSSION

Chairman Glass explained that everyone put together a list of projects, the County and the 3 cities and they are ready to be incorporated into the intergovernmental agreement included in the attached exhibits. Chairman Glass said that this is a renewal of the SPLOST and each SPLOST can run for 6 years. There is an intergovernmental agreement between the County and the cities and they must agree to split the funds based on a percentage basis. They have to use them for Capital Improvement type of projects. The current SPLOST will cease in October of 2023 and the last distributions will be distributed in November of 2023. If they do not renew it, they will stop collecting the 1 penny in November of 2023 and if it is renewed the SPLOST will continue with a new set of projects and a new 6 year time period. They have scheduled a special election for March of 2023 for the SPLOST that has to be approved by the voters. The splits will remain as in the current SPLOST.

SPLOST IV INTERGOVERMENTAL AGREEMENT-RESOLUTION 2022-21

Chairman Glass addressed the splits between the County and the Cities. The splits for the County and the Cities; 57% for Lamar County, 1% for the Town of Aldora, 38% for the City of Barnesville, and 4% for the City of Milner. The Department of Revenue will send the money to the County. They County will distribute the money to the cities based on the percentages. Because the City of Milner and the Town of Aldora have a smaller percentage, the Town of Aldora will be paid their 1 percent portion first of the expected total and then the City of Milner will be paid their 4 percent portion of the expected total. After the Town of Aldora and the City of Milner are paid their percentages, the County and the City of Barnesville will split the proceeds based on the agreed upon percentages each month. If the collections exceed the projected total then they will split the proceeds each month amongst the County and all of the Cities based upon the agreed upon percentages.

Chairman Glass called for a vote to approve the SPLOST IV Intergovernmental Agreement. Commissioner Thrash made a motion to approve the SPLOST IV Intergovernmental Agreement. Commissioner Horton seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Mayor Banks called for a vote to approve the SPLOST IV Intergovernmental Agreement. Council Member McDaniel made a motion to approve the SPLOST IV Intergovernmental Agreement. Council Member Shropshire seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Mayor Buffington called for a vote to approve the SPLOST IV Intergovernmental Agreement. Council Member Seda made a motion to approve the SPLOST IV Intergovernmental Agreement. Council Member Stephens seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Mayor Matthews made a motion to approve the SPLOST IV Intergovernmental Agreement. Council Member Penley seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

CALL FOR ELECTION SPLOST IV- RESOLUTION 2022-22

Commissioner Thrash made a motion to approve Resolution 2022-22 SPLOST IV Call for Special Election. Vice-Chairman Heiney seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT AND EXECUTIVE SESSION

Commissioner Horton made a motion to recess the Joint SPLOST IV meeting to go into executive session. At approximately 6:22 p.m. Commissioner Thrash seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. The board came out of executive session and adjourned the Joint SPLOST IV meeting.

	THE LAMAR COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONE				
	Charles Glass, Chairman				
	Pohart Hainay, Vias Chairman				
	Robert Heiney, Vice-Chairman				
	Bennie Horton, Commissioner				
	Nancy Thrash , Commissioner				
Attest:	Carlette Davidson, County Clerk				