The Board of Commissioners


Charles Glass



Charles Glass was elected Chairman in 2014 and took office January 1st, 2015. He served one term as District 2 Commissioner immediately prior to becoming Chairman. He is originally from Lamar County and returned for good in 2003 after retiring from Cisco Systems. Commissioner Glass has been very active as a volunteer in the community and his church since retirement.

Commissioner Glass is proud of Lamar County and wants to preserve and improve what we have here. He wants to implement more planning into the operations of County government. He also hopes to establish more deliberate citizen feedback mechanisms and involve more citizens in the discussion and decision making of county business. Commissioner Glass wants to work with the citizens to make sure Lamar County is the place we want to live and will still be what we want for our children and grandchildren. If you have suggestions you can email them to Commissioner Glass at or call him at 770-630-2372.


Bennie Horton
District 1



Commissioner Bennie Horton was elected in July 2002 and began his first term on January 1, 2003. He is a native of Lamar County who retired from Continental Tire after 40 years of distinguished service as a supervisor. During Commissioner Horton's tenure as commissioner, he has served as liaison for the Public Works, Building/Zoning, and Recreation Departments as well as Magistrate Court.

Commissioner Horton is the chairman of the local Democratic Party and serves on a multitude of various boards for the betterment of the community. He also spear headed the renaming of the newly constructed bypass to Martin Luther King, Jr. Parkway, where his efforts came to fruition in 2008.

Commissioner Horton serves his constituents by working diligently to create more jobs and make Lamar County the best place to live, work, and raise families in Georgia. His hobbies include music. Commissioner Horton graduated from Booker High School and Flint River Tech. He has taken courses at Gordon College and is a certified County Commissioner through the ACCG advanced program. His loving, devoted and supportive wife is Mrs. Vivadon Wilcher-Horton.


Robert Heiney
District 2



More to come...


Ryran Traylor
District 3


Commissioner Ryran Traylor was elected in 2016 and began to fulfil his duties in January of 2017. Traylor, a former LCHS standout athlete, was born and raised in Lamar County. He graduated from Georgia Southern University with a B.S. Degree in Sports Medicine/Community Health and from Troy University with an Executive M.B.A. Degree focused in Healthcare. While at GSU, Traylor was elected, and served as, the Student Government Association President. This SGA position fueled a love of community service that was originally sparked while in high school. Traylor has served as the President and President Elect of the Barnesville-Lamar County Rotary and is currently the Assistant Governor for Rotary District 6900 (he has been a member for 15 years). Ryran serves on many local boards: LC Solid Waste Authority Board, Region 6 Behavior Health Board, LC Health Department Board, LC School REACH Student Mentor, Advisory Council for LC High School College and Career Academy, And STAR Student & Teacher Chair for the Barnesville Kiwanis Club. Some of Ryran’s previous community service included, the Board of Directors for LC Chamber of Commerce.
With young children of his own, Commissioner Traylor is all about making Lamar County the best community possible. Ryran is truly vested in improving and enhancing all things related to Lamar and its’ citizens. Traylor has served as a community coach for the Lamar County Recreation Department and has guided numerous young athletes in developing skills in softball, football, baseball, and basketball. Ryran attends Rock Springs Church where he serves as a Bible Study and Small Group Leader.
Ryran is married to Dr. Jessica Traylor and their union has been blessed with two lovely children: Ryla, 14 and Hutson, 10. Commissioner Traylor has an extremely supportive extended family living right here in our Lamar County community. This simply strengthens the ties within the community and his desires to improve the lives of all citizens of Lamar.


Nancy Thrash
District 4
Member of ACCG Board of Managers and The Association County Commissioners of Georgia (ACCG) on the Board of Managers for the National Association of Counties (NACO).


Nancy began her term as 4th District Commissioner in January, 2009. She previously worked at the Georgia State Capitol with Lt. Governor Casey Cagle and the Senate Office. Prior to that, she retired from Delta Air Lines where she held many positions including Flight Attendant, Supervisor Airport Customer Service and Supervisor Elite Customer Service. Nancy attended Mercer University where she studied Criminal Justice and Clayton State University where she studied Private Investigations.

Nancy currently serves on the Board of Managers of the Association of County Commissioners of Georgia, Chairman of the Health and Human Services Board, Legislative Liaison for Lamar County, Board Member on the Lamar County Regional Solid Waste Authority and Board Member on the Towaliga Accountability Court. During her tenure as Commissioner, Nancy has guided the construction of the new Fire Station 1, assisted with obtaining funding for the Milner Library and has been very involved in each yearly Legislative Session. Nancy was previously appointed by Governor Sonny Perdue to serve on the Public Defenders Standards Council.

Nancy has lived in Barnesville for 10 years. She has two sons and seven grandchildren. She attends Rock Springs Church.

County Administrator & Clerk

Sean Townsend
County Administrator

Carlette Davidson
County Clerk

“Come Visit Us in Beautiful Lamar County, Georgia!”